All Drug charges carry loss of driver license
Most people are unaware that in New Jersey, if you are charged with a drug crime you are subject to losing your license anywhere from 6 months to 2 years. It does not matter if this is a first offense, if you were driving, or even if you were in a car. If you happen to be stopped by the police while walking and are charged with possessing even the smallest amounts of marijuana, you still are looking at a loss of your driving license if you are convicted.
However, even with a conviction, there is a way to save you drivers license. A Judge has been granted discretion through New Jersey Case Law, and a hardship application can be argued on your behalf. There are many factors a Judge will consider if raised properly, including family, job, lack of public transportation, etc. I have been extremely successful in arguing these hardship applications for my clients, and saving so many peoples driving licenses over the last 20 years. If you have any questions on this, please feel free to call me directly to discuss in greater detail.